There is no "one" way to innovate. And most importantly, innovation is not just defined as finding 'the' right idea that disrupts a market. At the opposite end of the spectrum isincremental innovation. Closer to continuous improvement, incremental innovation allows an organisation to be transformed gradually, and often with the help of employees on the ground. This is why it is particularly compatible with the notion ofcollaborative innovation.

What are the different types of innovation?

There is not one, but several ways of innovating. Here is a quick reminder of the four types of innovation that exist:

  • Incremental innovation: improving existing products, services or processes, working within the same market.
  • Adjacent: this is the use of the existing to adapt it to a new use or to conquer a new market.
  • Disruptive: starting from what already exists, and simplifying it to facilitate massive use
  • Radical: Radical innovation means bringing a new product or service to the market
4 types of innovation

What is incremental innovation?

Let's take a closer look atincremental innovation. Also known as continuous improvementIncremental innovation is a mode of innovation that consists ofimprovements to products, services or processes within the same market.

ALSO READ: The best tools for continuous improvement

This type of innovation is perhaps less fashionable than radical innovation - because it sounds less like innovation. And yet it is a vector forprofound improvements, and therefore for transformation for companies.

In addition, your employees can actively participate in incremental innovation. In other words, thecollaborative innovation is ideal for boosting your incremental innovation. Why is this? Because it is the doer who knows. In other words, your employees in the field are in the best position to propose solutions to irritants and ideas for continuous improvement.

3 examples of incremental innovations implemented in companies thanks to Beeshake

The purpose of this section is to inspire you on the types of incremental innovations that can emerge on a collaborative innovationplatform like Beeshake. For reasons of confidentiality, we will not always name the companies involved in these examples of incremental innovation. Also, for obvious reasons, we will not necessarily reveal the detailed content of these innovations.

Optimisation of the way customers collect their purchases

In a company in the retail sector, employees noticed that customers sometimes left the store with bulky purchases that were difficult to transport. They therefore took advantage of a device fromcollaborative innovation to propose a system that would make it easy to transport bulky products. This is a very good way of improving the experience and therefore the satisfaction of customers.

Optimisations of teleworking equipment

Incremental innovation can, for example, be about improving employee productivity. For example, the employees of a company suggested improvements to the teleworking equipment. The result: savings in time, money and therefore productivity.

CSR innovations to improve the environmental impact of the company

If we consider CSR to be a way of transforming and advancing an organisation, then incremental innovation can also involve societal and environmental aspects. It is therefore no longer rare to see a company working on CSR innovation. And it is also less and less rare for an organisation to ask its employees to come up with ideas and good practices to bring a CSR approach to life and thus become more sustainable.

In this vein, Carmila has put in place a call for ideas, in order to solicit its employees in Europe to come up with ideas on CSR. One of the projects set up following this call for ideas is the installation of composters in its shopping centres. They allow organic waste to be recycled and limit the pollution linked to the transport of waste. An innovation that affects the quality of processes within the company.

ALSO READ: Implementing a CSR approach in your company with your employees

Il n’y a pas « une » manière d’innover. Et surtout, l’innovation ne se définit pas seulement comme le fait de trouver « la » bonne idée qui bouleverse un marché. À l’opposé de cette idée se trouve l’innovation incrémentale. Plus proche de l’amélioration continue, l’innovation incrémentale permet de transformer une organisation progressivement, et souvent, avec l’aide des collaborateurs sur le terrain. C’est pourquoi elle est particulièrement compatible avec la notion d’innovation participative.

Quels sont les différents types d’innovation ?

Il n’existe pas une, mais bien plusieurs manières d’innover. Voici un rapide rappel des 4 types d’innovation qui existent :

  • L’innovation incrémentale : il s’agir d’améliorer les produits, services ou processus existants, en travaillant au sein du même marché.
  • Adjacente : c’est l’utilisation de l’existant pour l’adapter à un nouvel usage ou conquérir un nouveau marché.
  • Disruptive : il s’agit de partir de l’existant, et de le simplifier pour en faciliter un usage massif
  • Radicale : l’innovation radicale consiste à proposer un nouveau produit ou service sur le marché

4 types d'innovation

Qu’est ce que l’innovation incrémentale ?

Penchons-nous d’un peu plus près sur l’innovation incrémentale. Aussi appelée amélioration continue, il s’agit donc d’un mode d’innovation qui consiste en l’amélioration de produits, services ou processus, et au sein d’un même marché.

Ce type d’innovation est peut-être moins tendance que l’innovation radicale – parce qu’elle sonne moins « innovation ». Et pourtant, elle est un vecteur d’améliorations profondes, et donc de transformation pour les entreprises.

Par ailleurs, vos collaborateurs peuvent participer activement à l’innovation incrémentale. Autrement dit, l’innovation participative est idéale pour booster son innovation incrémentale. Pourquoi ? Parce que c’est celui qui fait, qui sait. Autrement dit, vos collaborateurs sur le terrain sont les mieux placés pour proposer des solutions à des irritants et des idées d’amélioration continue.

3 exemples d’innovations incrémentales mises en place en entreprise grâce à Beeshake

L’objectif de cette partie est de vous inspirer sur les types d’innovations incrémentales qui peuvent émerger sur une plateforme d’innovation participative comme Beeshake. Par souci de confidentialité, nous ne citerons donc pas toujours les entreprises concernées par ces exemples d’innovation incrémentale. Également, pour des raisons évidentes, nous ne révélerons pas nécessairement le contenu détaillé de ces innovations.

Une optimisation de la manière dont les clients récupèrent leurs achats

Dans une entreprise du secteur du retail, les salariés ont remarqué que les clients quittaient parfois l’enseigne avec des achats encombrants et difficiles à transporter. Ils ont donc profité d’un dispositif d’innovation participative pour proposer un système permettant de transporter facilement des produits volumineux. Une très bonne piste pour améliorer l’expérience, et donc la satisfaction des clients.

Des optimisations du matériel de télétravail

Une innovation incrémentale peut, par exemple, concerner l’amélioration de la productivité des collaborateurs. Aussi, les salariés d’une entreprise ont proposé d’apporter des améliorations au matériel de télétravail. À la clé : des gains de temps, d’argent et donc de productivité.

Des innovations autour de la RSE pour améliorer l’impact environnemental de l’entreprise

Si l’on considère que la RSE est une manière de transformer et de faire progresser une organisation, l’innovation incrémentale peut donc aussi concerner des aspects sociétaux et environnementaux. Il n’est donc plus rare de voir une entreprise travailler sur l’innovation RSE. Et il est également de moins en moins rare qu’une organisation demande à ses collaborateurs de faire remonter des idées et des bonnes pratiques pour faire vivre une démarche RSE et devenir ainsi plus durable.

Dans cet veine, Carmila mis en place un appel à idées, afin de solliciter ses collaborateurs en Europe sur la remontée d’idées autour de la RSE. L’un des projets mis en place suite à cet appel à idée est l’installation de composteurs dans ses centres commerciaux. Ils permettent de recycler les déchets organiques et limiter la pollution liée aux transports des déchets. Une innovation qui touche donc à la qualité des process au sein de l’entreprise.

LIRE AUSSI : Mettre en place une démarche RSE en entreprise avec vos collaborateurs

Beeshake plateforme d'innovation participative